Secondary School

At AMETIS, we offer the Cambridge International Programmes of Study because we believe in providing the best education possible in order to develop successful learners. We aim to develop learners who are confident, responsible, reflective, innovative and engaged. All our programmes and qualifications follow a learner-centred approach. We are a registered Cambridge International Examinations centre and offer a range of internationally recognised assessments and qualifications such as the Primary Checkpoint, Secondary Checkpoint, IGCSE and A-levels.

In addition to English, all learners at AMETIS, Ipoh from Years 1 to 11 will study Malay and Mandarin as foreign languages during school hours.


Key Stage 3: Years 7-9

The Key Stage 3 curriculum is made up of the following subjects:

  • English & Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Sciences, including Biology, Chemistry and Physics
  • ICT
  • Humanities- History, Geography and Personal, Social, Health, Citizenship and Emotional learning (PSHCE)
  • Performing Arts- Drama, Music and Art
  • Music
  • Art
  • Other foreign languages
The Key Stage 3 Curriculum

The Key Stage 3 curriculum is based on the best international and national

practices which highlights and develops such skills as communications, confidence building and understanding of the global environment. The Cambridge Lower Secondary Programme (CLSP) for English, Mathematics and Science provides the framework for the Lower Middle School curriculum. It ensures that learners harness their full potential and effectively apply knowledge, skills and abilities in each subject as well as offering externally standardised assessments of achievement through the Cambridge Checkpoint diagnostic tests in Year 9.

To learn more about CIE/CLSP, please refer to:

Time Allocation: Key Stage 3


Key Stage 4: Year 10-11

Courses in Years 7-9 build the skills needed for the CIE IGCSE examinations at the end of Year 11.

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14–16 year olds. It develops successful learners, giving them excellent preparation for their next steps in education, and equips them with skills for immediate employment. Cambridge IGCSE is recognised by universities and employers worldwide.

The Cambridge IGCSE is an internationally based curriculum, allowing teaching to be placed in a localised context, making it relevant in different regions. It is also suitable for learners’ whose first language may not be English and this is acknowledged throughout the examination process.For more information about the Cambridge IGCSE, please refer to

Certain IGCSE subjects are compulsory: English (First or Second Language), Mathematics, a Science (Chemistry, Physics or Biology), a Humanity, an additional Language (Malay/Mandarin) and ICT in order to achieve the ICE certificate.

Optional Subjects available for study:

  •  Additional Mathematics
  •  Accounting
  •  Physics
  •   Business Studies

Time allocation: Key Stage 4